Text Size - Small Medium Large


Application for Licensure as a Psychologist

General Instructions and Information

COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS OF THE APPLICATION. Failure to do so will delay approval. Please type or print legibly in BLUE ink.

HOW TO CONTACT THE BOARD: If you need additional information after carefully reading all of these instructions, you can call the Board at (916) 574-7720 Option 2. However, the Board encourages applicants to communicate with staff via e-mail. It is more efficient than telephone contact and provides applicants with a written record of the information provided. The e-mail address for the Board is boplicensing@dca.ca.gov.

LAWS AND REGULATIONS: A book containing relevant sections of the Business and Professions Code and the California Code of Regulations can be viewed from the Board’s website at http://www.psychology.ca.gov/laws_regs/index.shtml. It can also be purchased through Lexus Nexis. Please review this book carefully prior to completing and submitting your application.

WHEN TO APPLY: Once eligible, an application for licensure to take the Examination from Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) and the California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination (CPLEE) may be filed at any time. To be eligible for the EPPP one must possess a qualifying doctorate degree and have accrued at least 1500 hours of qualifying supervised professional experience. To be eligible for the CPLEE one must pass the EPPP and complete the required 3000 hours of qualifying supervised professional experience. See below for circumstances that may exempt you from taking the EPPP.

TRANSCRIPTS: Official transcripts from all educational institutions where you completed relevant graduate coursework must be sent directly by the institution to the Board of Psychology, 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N¬215, Sacramento, CA 95834. If you have previously submitted doctoral transcripts in support of a psychological assistant application or registered psychologist application, you are NOT required to submit another set of official transcripts for the purpose of this application for licensure as a psychologist.

FEES: The current application fee of $40.00 must accompany the completed application. This fee is non-refundable. If you are required to take the EPPP, you will be required to pay the examination fee of $600.00 to Pearson VUE. If you have previously taken the EPPP and passed at or above California’s pass point, or if you qualify for a waiver of the EPPP, you must submit the examination fee for the CPLEE of $129.00 to the Board along with this application. Upon successful completion of exam(s), an initial license fee of $400.00 is required prior to the issuance of a license.

FINGERPRINT PROCEDURES: Before the Board of Psychology issues a license, a clearance must be received from the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) to document that the applicant has no criminal history that may be grounds for denial of licensure as a psychologist. If you have not been registered or licensed with the Board previously, you must have your fingerprints scanned for the purpose of conducting a criminal history records check. You need to complete a "Request for Live Scan Service" form and take the completed form (in triplicate) to a Live Scan site. Please refer to the Fingerprint Procedures Form from the Board’s Web site: http://www.psychology.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprint.shtml.

VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE FORMS: Verification of Experience forms are to be completed by every primary supervisor verifying a portion of the required hours of experience. Be sure to type or clearly print both your supervisor’s name and address and your name in the spaces indicated. Send these forms directly to your supervisors. When the form is completed, the supervisor is to sign it preferably in BLUE ink and send it directly to the Board of Psychology, 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834. NOTE: For any hours accrued after January 1, 2005, an applicant must complete a one page verification of experience form and a supervision agreement plan. The supervision agreement plan must have been completed (signed and dated) prior to the commencement of training. These forms can be accessed from the Board's Web site at http://www.psychology.ca.gov/applicants/sup_agree.shtml.

STARTING DATE FOR POST-DOCTORAL EXPERIENCE: Post-doctoral supervised professional experience may commence any time after the doctorate degree is awarded. However, applicants who met ALL requirements for their doctorate degree prior to the degree's ceremonial awarding may commence their post-doctoral experience any time after the "met requirements" date. For those who started their experience early, if a "met requirements" date is clearly noted on your transcript, no further documentation is required. If this date is not on your transcript, however, it will be necessary to have the registrar, director of training, or dean of the academic institution verify this date in a separate document. NOTE: The Board will accept only the date on which ALL requirements were met. This means that both substantive and administrative requirements for your doctorate degree must be met prior to accruing post-doctoral experience.

HUMAN SEXUALITY REQUIREMENT: All applicants must submit evidence of compliance with this requirement prior to licensure. Coursework must comply with the following:

(a) Be completed after January 1, 1970.
(b) Be obtained
(1) In an accredited or approved educational institution, as defined in section 2901 of the Code, including extension courses offered by such institutions, or
(2) In an educational institution approved by the Department of Education pursuant to section 94310 of the Education Code, or
(3) From a continuing education provider approved by a professional association, or
(4) In a course sponsored or offered by a professional association, or (5) In a course sponsored, offered or approved by a local, county or state department of health or mental health or by health agencies of the Federal Government.
(c) Have a minimum length of ten (10) contact hours.
(d) Include the study of physiological-psychological and social-cultural variables associated with sexual identity, sexual behavior or sexual disorders. All applicants shall provide the Board with documentation of completion of the required human sexuality training.

This course can be taken online provided it meets the above requirements of Section 1382 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

CHILD ABUSE COURSEWORK REQUIREMENT: All applicants must submit evidence of compliance with this requirement prior to licensure. The coursework or training in child abuse assessment and reporting shall consist of not less than 7 instructional hours and shall include training in each of the subject areas described in section 28 of the Code. The coursework or training shall be:

(a) Obtained at an educational institution, or in an extension course offered by an institution which is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, the Northwest Association of Secondary and Higher Schools, or an essentially equivalent accrediting agency as determined by the Board or approved by the State Department of Education pursuant to section 94310.2 of the Education Code; or
(b) Obtained from a statewide professional association representing the professions of psychology, social work, or marriage, family and child counseling; or
(c) Obtained from or sponsored by a local county, state or federal governmental entity.
(d) Completed after January 1, 1983.

This course can be taken online provided it meets the above requirements of Section 1382.4 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

DETECTION AND TREATMENT OF ALCOHOL AND OTHER CHEMICAL SUBSTANCE DEPENDENCY REQUIREMENT: All applicants who started graduate training on or after September 1, 1985 must show evidence of this training prior to licensure. The requirements set forth in Section 2914 (e) of the code shall be satisfied by completing a graduate level course which meets the following criteria:

(a) The course shall be devoted solely to the topic of alcoholism and chemical dependency detection and treatment and shall not be less than a semester or a quarter term in length.
(b) The course must be obtained at an educational institution, or in an extension course offered by an institution, which is either credited under Education Code Section 94310.1, or approved under Education Code Section 94310.2, by the State Department of Education.
(c) An original transcript indicating successful completion of the course shall be deemed sufficient evidence for purposes of satisfying this requirement.
(d) The course shall include training in each of the following subjects as they relate to alcoholism and chemical dependency:
(1) The definition of alcoholism and other chemical dependency, and the evaluation of the user.
(2) Current theories of, and research on, the etiology of substance abuse.
(3) Physiological and medical aspects and effects of alcoholism and other chemical dependency.
(4) Psychopharmacology and the interaction of various classes of drugs, including alcohol.
(5) Diagnosing and differentiating alcoholism and substance abuse in patients referred for other clinical symptoms, such as depression, anxiety, psychosis, and impotence.
(6) Populations at risk with regard to substance abuse.
(7) Cultural and ethnic considerations.
(8) Prenatal effects.
(9) Adolescent substance abuse.
(10) Implications for the geriatric population.
(11) Iatrogenic dependency.
(12) Major treatment approaches to alcoholism and chemical dependency, including research and application.
(13) The role of persons and systems which support or compound abuse.
(14) Family issues which include treatment approaches with families of alcoholics and/or substance abusers.
(15) The process of referring affected persons.
(16) Community resources offering assessment, treatment and follow-up for the abuser and family.
(17) Ethical and Legal issues for clinical practice.
(18) Prevention of substance abuse.

This course can be taken online provided it meets the above requirements of Section 1382.3 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

SPOUSAL OR PARTNER ABUSE ASSESSMENT, DETECTION AND INTERVENTION REQUIREMENT: All applicants who began graduate training between January 1, 1995 and December 31, 2003 must show evidence of completing at least two hours of coursework in this area prior to licensure. All applicants who started graduate training on or after January 1, 2004 must show evidence of completing at least 15 hours of coursework in this area prior to licensure. The coursework shall be:

(a) taken in fulfillment of other educational requirements in the applicant’s graduate and/or doctoral training, or
(b) taken in a separate course approved by the Board’s recognized continuing education accrediting agency, or
(c) taken in a separate course provided by a sponsor approved by the American Psychological Association.
(d) completed after January 1, 1995. An applicant may request an exemption from this requirement if he or she intends to practice in an area that does not include the direct provision of mental health services.

This course can be taken online provided it meets the above requirements of Section 1382.5 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

AGING AND LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT: All applicants who started graduate training on or after January 1, 2004 must show evidence of this training prior to licensure. This course shall include but not be limited to the biological, social, and psychological aspects of aging, and shall submit documentation thereof to the board. The coursework in aging and long-term care shall consist of not less than a combined total of ten (10) contact hours focused on this topic. The coursework shall be:

(a) taken in fulfillment of other educational requirements in the applicant’s graduate and/or doctoral training, or
(b) taken in a separate course approved by the Board’s recognized continuing education accrediting agency, or
(c) taken in a separate course provided by a sponsor approved by the American Psychological Association.
(d) completed after January 1, 2004.

This course can be taken online provided it meets the above requirements of Section 1382.6 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

WHAT TO EXPECT: If you have provided an e-mail address, the Board will send an e-mail notification to confirm receipt of your application. Applicants with no e-mail address will be notified via mail. This notification will also provide information if additional documentation is/are required. All applications are evaluated in the order received.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS WITH FOREIGN DEGREES: All applicants with doctorate degrees that were awarded outside the United States or Canada must provide the Board with a comprehensive evaluation of the degree performed by a foreign credential evaluation service that is a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES) as well as official transcripts from all graduate level educational institutions. To obtain a list of credential evaluation services that are members of NACES, visit their Web site at www.naces.org.

CANADIAN DEGREES: Applicants who receive their doctorate degrees from accredited Canadian schools need only submit their official transcripts, provided that the transcripts are in English. If the transcripts are in any other language than English, they must be translated in English by an accredited agency.

EXPEDITED LICENSURE FOR SPOUSES OR DOMESTIC PARTNERS OF ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL: The Board of Psychology will expedite the licensure/registration process for spouses and domestic partners of those on active duty in the Armed Forces pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 115.5. For an applicant’s license/registration to be considered for military expediting, the applicant must:

  • Supply evidence that they are married to, or in a domestic partnership or other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official orders.
  • To establish this, please attach a copy of the marriage certificate or certified declaration/registration of domestic partnership AND copies of current Leave and Earnings Statements or military orders establishing duty station in California.
  • Hold a current license/registration in another state, district or territory of the United States in the profession or vocation for which the applicant is seeking a license/registration.
  • To establish this, please attach a copy of the current license in another state, district, or territory of the United States.

Please note that this does not mean a license/registration must be issued, but simply requires the process to be accelerated for spouses and domestic partners of active duty military personnel. (Business and Professions Code Section 115.5)

WAIVER OF THE EXAMINATION FOR PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE IN PSYCHOLOGY (EPPP) AND THE California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination (CPLEE): Pursuant to Section 1388.6 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, the national written examination (the EPPP) will be waived if you:

  • Are a California licensed psychologist who has been licensed for at least five years but allowed your license to cancel by not renewing the license for at least three years.
  • Are licensed as a psychologist in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory, for at least five years, and have not been subject to discipline. This requires the licensing agency in another state, Canadian province or U.S. territory where you possess a license to complete a certification of licensure and mail it directly to this Board. Certification must include license number, initial issue date, expiration date, date of birth, current status of license, and any disciplinary action.
  • Possess a Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB). For more information about CPQ's, contact ASPPB at (800) 448-4069, visit their website at www.asppb.org, or write to P.O. Box 241245, Montgomery, AL 36124. Verification of your CPQ must be sent to the Board directly from ASPPB.
  • Are a licensed psychologist who is credentialed as a Health Service Provider in Psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology (NRHSPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years. For more information regarding NRHSPP, contact them at (202) 783-7663, visit their website at www.nationalregister.org, or write to 1120 G Street, NW, Suite 330, Washington, DC 20005. Verification of your credential must be sent to the Board directly from NRHSPP.
  • Are an applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is certified by the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years. For more information regarding ABPP, contact them at (919) 537-8031 or visit their website at www.abpp.org, or write to 600 Market Street, Suite 300 Chapel Hill, NC 27516

NOTE: Although the EPPP and the CPLEE may be waived under this section, an applicant must file a complete application and meet all current licensing requirements including payment of any fees, take and pass the CPLEE, and not have been subject to discipline. The exam fee for taking the CPLEE is $129.00.

REQUEST FOR EXAMINATION ACCOMMODATION: All examination sites are physically accessible to individuals with disabilities. Pursuant to Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and California law, the Board will provide reasonable accommodations to qualified candidates. However, the Board will not provide accommodations that fundamentally alter the measurement of the skills or knowledge the examination is intended to test. Accommodations will not be provided at the examination site unless prior approval by the Board has been granted. A candidate who seeks an accommodation has the responsibility to make the request and provide documentation substantiating the need for accommodations at the time of submission of the application for licensure. The information supplied to substantiate a candidate's request for an accommodation will be kept confidential to the extent provided by law. Any request for accommodation (except for accommodations requiring a physically accessible examination site) must be submitted to the Board on a form prescribed by the Board. This form can be downloaded from the Board's Web site at http://www.psychology.ca.gov/forms_pubs/adaform.pdf.

REQUEST FOR ACCOMMODATION BASED ON ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE Applicants for whom English is his or her second language may be eligible for additional time when taking the EPPP and/or the CPLEE. The applicant must complete and submit a request stating under the penalty of perjury that English is his or her second language.

The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) certification score of 85 or below must be sent by Educational Testing Service directly to the Board. The TOEFL must have been conducted within two years of application. If approved, the applicant will be allotted time-and-a-half (1.5x) when taking the examination(s). For more information about the TOEFL process, please visit their website at http://www.ets.org/toefl or call at 1-443-751-4862 or 1-800-468-6335 (1-800-GO-TOEFL).

INTERIM PRACTICE IN CALIFORNIA: Under the provisions of Section 2946 of the Business and Professions Code, if you are currently licensed in another state at the doctoral level and you have applied for a California license, you may practice psychology without a valid California license for a period not to exceed 180 calendar days from the date of submitting your application or from the date you commenced residency in California, whichever first occurs.

ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION/FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR EXAMINATION: Pursuant to Section 1381.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, an application shall be denied without prejudice when, in the discretion of the Board, an applicant does not exercise due diligence in the completion of his or her application, in furnishing additional information or documents that have been requested or in the payment of any required fees. Additionally, pursuant to Section 1381.4 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, any applicant approved to take or retake a Board licensing examination who fails to appear for such examination in any twelve (12) month period shall have his or her application withdrawn. An applicant who subsequently decides to take the examination shall be required to file a new application and pay the current application and examination fees.

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION: The Board of Psychology collects the personal information requested on this form as authorized by Business and Professions Code Sections 115.5, 144, 480, 2914 and 2960 and Title 16 of California Code of Regulations Sections 1381, 1387, 1387.1, 1387.2, 1387.3, 1387.4, 1387.5, 1388 and 1388.6. The Board uses this information principally to identify and evaluate applications for licensure and enforce licensing standards.

Mandatory Submission. Submission of the requested information is mandatory unless otherwise stated as "optional." The Board cannot consider your application for licensure or renewal unless you provide all of the required information.

Access to Personal Information. You may review the records maintained by the Board that contain your personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Section 1798 et seq.). See "Contact Information" below.

Possible Disclosure of Personal Information. We make every effort to protect the personal information you provide us. The information you provide, however, may be disclosed in the following circumstances:

  • In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Section 6250 and following), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Section 1798 and following);
  • To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or
  • In response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant.

Contact Information. . For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact the Board of Psychology 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-7720 Option 2, or e-mail boplicensing@dca.ca.gov. For questions about the Department of Consumer Affairs’ privacy policy or the Information Practices Act, you may contact the Department of Consumer Affairs, 1625 North Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834, (800) 952-5210 or e-mail dca@dca.ca.gov.

Instructions for applicants who have previously taken the Examination for
Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)

CALIFORNIA PASS POINT: For forms of the EPPP taken prior to September 1, 2001, the passing score is the score that was recognized by the Board at that time. For computer-administered forms of the EPPP, the Board applies a scaled score of 500 as recommended by the ASPPB.

IF YOU SCORED BELOW THE CALIFORNIA PASS POINT: If the score you obtained on the EPPP met or exceeded the California pass point for that administration of the examination, it will not be necessary for you to retake the examination. You must, however, have your score reported to the Board through the ASPPB. You may obtain a copy of the EPPP Score Transfer request form by calling (800) 448-4069 or visit ASPPB's website.