DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY • GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN J

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY – EXECUTIVE OFFICE 1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834

P (916) 574-7113 F (916) 574-8641 | www.psychology.ca.gov



January 26, 2015

The Honorable Jerry Hill Chair, Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee State Capitol, Room 5035 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: APPLIED BEHAVIOR ANALYSIS SUNRISE PROPOSAL

Dear Senator Hill:

The California Board of Psychology (Board) formed an Applied Behavior Analysis Task Force (Task Force) to discuss and analyze the Sunrise Application submitted by the California Association for Behavior Analysis (CalABA). The members of the Task Force are representative of the professions potentially affected by any licensing act for ABA practitioners;

- Johanna Arias-Bhatia, Board of Psychology, Committee Chair
- Miguel Gallardo, PsyD, Board of Psychology
- Don Crowder, PhD, Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB)
- Elizabeth Winkelman, PhD, JD, California Psychological Association (CPA)
- Jim Carr, PhD, Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB)
- Gina Green, PhD, Association of Professional Behavior Analysts(APBA)
- Daniel Shabani, PhD, California Association for Behavior Analysis

The Task Force submitted three unanimously approved motions to the Board for its consideration. These motions were formally adopted by the Board;

- That any licensure bill contain an exemption for licensed psychologists and their supervisees,
- That any licensure bill exclude diagnosis in the ABA practitioners scope of practice and;
- That it be communicated that ABA is within the existing scope of practice for licensed psychologists.

The Board looks forward to working with the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee during the Sunrise process. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Antonette Sorrick, Executive Office of the Board at (916) 574-7113.

Sincerely,

MICHAEL ERICKSON, PHD

President, Board of Psychology

Milliam

cc: Senator Patricia C. Bates (Vice Chair)

Senator Tom Berryhill

Senator Marty Block

Senator Cathleen Galgiani

Senator Ed Hernandez

Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson

Senator Tony Mendoza

Senator Bob Wieckowski

Ms. Nicole J. Jones

Ms. Lucille Aquaye-Baddoo

Ms. Johanna Arias-Bhatia

Miguel Gallardo, PsyD

Andrew Harlem, PhD

Jacqueline Horn, PhD

Stephen Phillips, PhD, JD

Ms. Linda Starr

Don Crowder, PhD

Elizabeth Winkelman, PhD, JD

Jim Carr, PhD

Gina Green, PhD

Daniel Shabani, PhD