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BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

 

Proposed Language 

 

 

(1) Amend Section 1388 of Article 4 of Division 13.1 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

 

§ 1388. Examinations. 

 

(a) The board recognizes the expertise of the Department of Consumer Affairs’ 

(DCA) Office of Examination Resources (OER) Office of Professional Examination 

Services (OPES).  The board shall utilize the services of the OER OPES in licensing 

examination development and validation through an interagency agreement. 

 

(b) An applicant shall successfully take and pass the licensing examinations prior 

to being licensed. The licensing examinations shall consist of the Association of State and 

Provincial Psychology Boards’ (ASPPB) Examination for Professional Practice in 

Psychology (EPPP), and the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE) 

California Psychology Laws and Ethic Supplemental Examination (CPLEE), except that 

the EPPP and the CPSE shall be waived for those applicants who meet the criteria in 

section 1388.6 of this chapter.  Such applicants shall be required to take and pass the 

California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE). 

 

(c) An applicant is eligible to take the EPPP upon completion of a qualifying 

doctorate degree and 1500 hours of qualifying professional experience. An applicant shall 

pass the EPPP and complete all 3000 hours of supervised professional experience prior to 

being eligible for the CPSE or the CPLEE, pursuant to section 1388.6. 

 

(d) Upon application, the board will notify applicants of their eligibility to take 

the EPPP. Applicants are responsible for completing any administrative requirements for 

taking the EPPP established by ASPPB or its agent, including paying any fees. This 

subsection applies to those re-taking the EPPP as well as to those taking it for the first 

time. 

 

(e) For forms of the EPPP taken prior to September 1, 2001, the passing score is 

the score that was recognized by the board at that time. For computer administered forms 

of the EPPP, the board shall apply a scaled score as recommended by ASPPB. 

 

(f) Qualified applicants desiring to take the CPSE or the CPLEE, for those 

applications who qualify for a waiver of the CPSE pursuant to section 1388.6, shall 

submit to the board the fee set forth in section 1392 of this chapter. Applicants shall 

comply with all instructions established by the DCA examination vendor for taking the 

CPSE or the CPLEE. 

(g) The passing score on the CPSE and the CPLEE shall be determined for each 

form of the examination by a criterion referenced procedure performed by OER OPES.  
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(h) An applicant for whom English is his or her second language may be eligible 

for additional time when taking the EPPP and/or the CPLEE. The applicant must 

complete and submit a request for additional time that states under penalty of perjury that 

English is his or her second language. The Test of English as a Foreign Language 

(TOEFL) certification score of 85 or below must be sent by Educational Testing Service 

directly to the board.  The TOEFL must have been taken within the previous two years 

prior to application. If approved, the applicant will be allotted time–and-a-half (1.5x) 

when taking the examination.   

 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 2930 and 2942, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference:  Sections 123, 496, 2941, 2942, 2943 and 2960, Business and Professions 

Code. 

 

 

(2) Amend Section 1388.6 of Article 4 of Division 13.1 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

 

§ 1388.6. License Requirements and Waiver of Examination. 

 

(a) When a California-licensed psychologist has been licensed for at least five 

years and has allowed his/her license to expire cancel by not renewing the license for at 

least three years, the psychologist shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. 

 

(b) If an applicant for licensure as a psychologist has been licensed in another 

state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory, for at least five years the applicant shall not be 

required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. 

 

(c) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who holds a Certificate of 

Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards (ASPPB), shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE.  Such 

an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of 

subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914. 

 

(d) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is credentialed as a Health 

Service Provider in Psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers in 

Psychology (NRHSPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, 

Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years shall not be required to 

take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the 

educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 

2914. 

 

(e) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is certified by the American 

Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral 

degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years 

shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE.  Such an applicant shall be deemed to 
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have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code 

section 2914. 

 

(f) Although the EPPP is and the CPSE are waived under this section, an 

applicant must file a complete application and meet all current licensing requirements not 

addressed above, including payment of any fees, take and pass the California Psychology 

Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE), and not been subject to discipline. 

 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 2930 and 2946, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference:  Section 2946, Business and Professions Code. 

 

 

(3) Amend Section 1389 of Article 4 of Division 13.1 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

 

§ 1389. Reconsideration of Examinations. 

 

(a) There shall be no reconsideration of the grade received on the EPPP or on the 

CPSE CPLEE. 

 

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to deprive an applicant of his or her 

rights of appeal as afforded by other provisions of law. 

 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Section 2930, Business and Professions Code.  Reference:  

Sections 2942 and 2944, Business and Professions Code. 

 

 

(4) Amend Section 1392 of Article 6 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations to read as follows: 

 

§ 1392. Psychologist Fees. 

 

(a) The application fee for a psychologist is $40.00. 

 

(b) The fee for the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE) is 

$129.00. 

 

(c) (b) The fee for the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination 

(CPLEE) is $129.00. 

 

(d) (c) An applicant taking or repeating either licensing examination shall pay the 

full fee for that examination. 

  

(e) (d) The initial license fee and the biennial renewal fee for a psychologist are 

$400.00, except that if an initial license will expire less than one year after its issuance, 
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then the initial license fee is an amount equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on 

the last regular renewal date before the date on which the license is issued. 

 

(f) (e) The biennial renewal fee for an inactive license is $40.00. 

 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 2930, 2987 and 2989, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference:  Sections 2987, 2988 and 2989, Business and Professions Code. 


