#### Article 4. Examinations

#### 1388. Examinations.

- (a) The board Board recognizes the expertise of the Department of Consumer Affairs' (DCA) Office of <u>Professional Examination ResourcesServices-(OER-OPES</u>). The board Board shall utilize the services of the <u>OEROPES</u>-in licensing examination development and validation through an interagency agreement.
- (b) An applicant shall successfully take and pass the licensing examinations prior to being licensed. The licensing examinations shall consist of the Association of State and Provincial Psychology BeardBoards' (ASPPB) Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), and the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE) except that the EPPP and the CPSE shall be waived for those applicants who meet the criteria in section 1388.6 of this chapter. Such applicants shall be required to take and pass the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE).
- (c) An applicant is eligible to take the EPPP upon completion of a qualifying doctorate degree and 1500 hours of qualifying professional experience. An applicant shall pass the EPPP and complete all 3000 hours of supervised professional experience prior to being eligible for the CPSE or the CPLEE, whichever is applicable, pursuant to section 1388.6.
- (d) Upon application, the <u>beardBoard</u> will notify applicants of their eligibility to take the EPPP. Applicants are responsible for completing any administrative requirements for taking the EPPP established by ASPPB or its agent, including paying any fees. This subsection applies to those re-taking the EPPP as well as to those taking it for the first time.
- (e) For forms of the EPPP taken prior to September 1, 2001, the passing score is the score that was recognized by the <u>boardBoard</u> at that time. For computer administered forms of the EPPP, the <u>boardBoard</u> shall apply a scaled score of 500 as recommended by ASPPB.
- (f) Qualified applicants desiring to take the CPSE or the CPLEE, for those applications who qualify for a waiver of the CPSE pursuant to section 1388.6, shall submit to the beardBoard the fee set forth in section 1392 of this chapter. Applicants shall comply with all instructions established by the DCA examination vendor for taking the CPSE or the CPLEE.
- (g) The passing score on the CPSE and the CPLEE shall be determined for each form of the examination by a criterion referenced procedure performed by OEROPES.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2930 and 2942, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 123, 496, 2941, 2942, 2943 and 2960, Business and Professions Code. HISTORY:

- 1. Amendment filed 12-22-76; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 76, No. 52).
- 2. Amendment of subsection (b) filed 2-14-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 8).

- 3. Repealer and new section filed 11-21-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 48).
- 4. Amendment of subsection (b) filed 4-26-79; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 79, No. 17).
- 5. Amendment filed 6-15-83; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 83, No. 25).
- 6. Change without regulatory effect pursuant to section 100, title 1, California Code of Regulations filed 3-5-90 (Register 90, No. 20).
- 7. Amendment of subsection (b) and Note filed 6-14-93; operative 7-1-93 pursuant to Government Code section 11346.2(d) (Register 93, No. 25).
- 8. Amendment of subsection (c) and Note filed 8-11-95; operative 9-10-95 (Register 95, No. 32).
- 9. Amendment of subsection (b) filed 1-8-99 as an emergency; operative 1-8-99 (Register 99, No. 2). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-10-99 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 10. Certificate of Compliance as to 1-8-99 order transmitted to OAL 5-7-99 and filed 6-15-99 (Register 99, No. 25).
- 11. Amendment of subsections (a)–(c) and new subsections (d)–(g) filed 7-11-2001; operative 8-10-2001 (Register 2001, No. 28).
- 12. Change without regulatory effect amending subsection (f) filed 8-13-2001 pursuant to section 100, title 1, California Code of Regulations (Register 2001, No. 33).
- 13. Amendment of subsections (a)–(c) and (e) and new subsections (h)–(i) filed 12-19-2001 as an emergency; operative 1-1-2002 (Register 2001, No. 51). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-1-2002 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 14. Certificate of Compliance as to 12-19-2001 order transmitted to OAL 1-8-2002 and filed 2-20-2002 (Register 2002, No. 8).
- 15. Amendment filed 2-11-2003; operative 3-1-2003 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2003, No. 7).
- 16. Amendment of subsections (b), (c), (f) and (g) filed 5-12-2006; operative 5-12-2006 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2006, No. 19).
- 17. Amendment of subsections (b), (c), (f) and (g) filed 4-1-2008; operative 4-1-2008 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2008, No. 14).

## § 1388.5. Oral Examinations.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2930, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2931, 2941, 2942 and 2945, Business and Professions Code; and Section 12944, Government Code. HISTORY:

- 1. New section filed 11-21-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 48).
- 2. Amendment filed 6-15-83; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 83, No. 25).
- 3. Change without regulatory effect pursuant to section 100, Title 1, California Code of Regulations filed 3-5-90 (Register 90, No. 20).
- 4. Amendment of subsections (b)–(c) and Note filed 8-11-95; operative 9-10-95 (Register 95, No. 32).
- 5. New subsection (d) filed 1-8-99 as an emergency; operative 1-8-99 (Register 99, No.
- 2). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-10-99 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 6. Certificate of Compliance as to 1-8-99 order transmitted to OAL 5-7-99 and filed 6-15-99 (Register 99, No. 25).
- 7. Repealer filed 12-19-2001 as an emergency; operative 1-1-2002 (Register 2001, No. 51). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-1-2002 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 8. Certificate of Compliance as to 12-19-2001 order transmitted to OAL 1-8-2002 and filed 2-20-2002 (Register 2002, No. 8).

## 1388.6. License Requirements and Waiver of Examination.

- (a) When a California-licensed psychologist has been licensed for at least five years and has allowed his/her license to expire by not renewing the license for at least three years, the psychologist shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE.
- (b) If an applicant for licensure as a psychologist has been licensed in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory, for at least five years the applicant shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE.
- (c) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who holds a Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology BoardBoards (ASPPB), shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914.
- (d) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is credentialed as a Health Service Provider in Psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology (NRHSPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another

state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914.

- (e) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is certified by the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914.
- (f) Although the EPPP and the CPSE are waived under this section, an applicant must file a complete application and meet all current licensing requirements not addressed above, including payment of any fees, take and pass the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE), and not been subject to discipline.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2930 and 2946, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 2946, Business and Professions Code. HISTORY:

- 1. New section filed 3-13-97; operative 4-12-97 (Register 97, No. 11).
- 2. Amendment of subsections (a)–(c), new subsection (d), subsection relettering, and amendment of newly designated subsection (e) filed 12-1-98; operative 12-31-98 (Register 98, No. 49).
- 3. Amendment filed 4-5-2001; operative 5-5-2001 (Register 2001, No. 14).
- 4. Amendment filed 12-19-2001 as an emergency; operative 1-1-2002 (Register 2001, No. 51). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-1-2002 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 5. Certificate of Compliance as to 12-19-2001 order transmitted to OAL 1-8-2002 and filed 2-20-2002 (Register 2002, No. 8).
- 6. Amendment of section heading and section filed 8-7-2003; operative 9-6-2003 (Register 2003, No. 32).
- 7. Amendment of subsection (f) filed 5-12-2006; operative 5-12-2006 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2006, No. 19).
- 8. New subsection (e) and subsection relettering filed 4-9-2007; operative 5-9-2007 (Register 2007, No. 15).
- 9. Amendment filed 4-1-2008; operative 4-1-2008 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2008, No. 14).

## § 1389. Reconsideration of Examinations.

- (a) There shall be no reconsideration of the grade received on the EPPP\_-er on the CPSE or on the CPLEE.
- (b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to deprive an applicant of his or her rights of appeal as afforded by other provisions of law.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2930, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2942 and 2944, Business and Professions Code. HISTORY:

- 1. Repealer and new section filed 2-14-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 8).
- 2. Amendment filed 11-21-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 48).
- 3. Amendment of subsection (c) filed 4-26-79; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 79, No. 17).
- 4. Amendment of subsections (b) and (c) filed 2-28-80; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 80, No. 9).
- 5. Amendment filed 6-15-83; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 83, No. 25).
- 6. Change without regulatory effect pursuant to section 100, Title 1, California Code of Regulations filed 3-5-90 (Register 90, No. 20).
- 7. Amendment of subsection (a), repealer of subsection (b), subsection relettering, and amendment of newly designated subsection (c) filed 8-11-95; operative 9-10-95 (Register 95, No. 32).
- 8. Repealer of subsections (a)–(b), subsection relettering, and amendment of newly designated subsection (a) filed 12-19-2001 as an emergency; operative 1-1-2002 (Register 2001, No. 51). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-1-2002 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 9. Certificate of Compliance as to 12-19-2001 order transmitted to OAL 1-8-2002 and filed 2-20-2002 (Register 2002, No. 8).
- 10. Amendment of subsection (a) filed 5-12-2006; operative 5-12-2006 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2006, No. 19).

# § 1389.1. Inspection of Examinations.

- (a) All examination materials, except those owned by an examination service, shall be retained by the <u>boardBoard</u> at the <u>boardBoard</u>'s office in Sacramento for a period of two (2) years after the date of the examination.
- (b) No inspection is allowed of the written examination administered by the boardBoard.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2930, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2942 and 2944, Business and Professions Code; and Section 12944, Government Code. HISTORY:

1. Renumbering of former section 1390 to new section 1389.1 filed 12-16-2004; operative 1-1-2005 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2004, No. 51).

#### Article 6. Fees

# 1392. Psychologist Fees.

- (a) The application fee for a psychologist is \$40.00.
- (b) The fee for the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE) is \$129.00.
- (c) The fee for the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE) is \$129.00.
- (d) An applicant taking or repeating either licensing examination shall pay the full fee for that examination.
- (e) The initial license fee and the biennial renewal fee for a psychologist are \$400.00, except that if an initial license will expire less than one year after its issuance, then the initial license fee is an amount equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date on which the license is issued.
- (f) The biennial renewal fee for an inactive license is \$40.00.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2930, 2987 and 2989, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2987, 2988 and 2989, Business and Professions Code. HISTORY:

- 1. Amendment of subsections (a) and (b) filed 7-10-89; operative 8-9-89 (Register 89, No. 49). For prior history, see Register 83, No. 25.
- 2. New subsection (d) filed 12-1-89; operative 12-31-89 (Register 89, No. 49).
- 3. Amendment of subsection (c) filed 5-17-90; operative 6-16-90 (Register 90, No. 26).
- 4. Amendment of subsection (c) filed 5-24-91; operative 6-23-91 (Register 91, No. 27).
- 5. Amendment of subsections (b) and (c) and Note filed 6-14-93; operative 7-1-93 pursuant to Government Code section 113462(d) (Register 93, No. 25).
- Amendment of subsection (c) filed 3-8-95; operative 4-7-95 (Register 95, No. 10).
- 7. Amendment of subsection (b) and Note filed 3-24-97; operative 4-23-97 (Register 97, No. 13).
- 8. Amendment of subsection (b) filed 10-22-98; operative 11-21-98 (Register 98, No. 43).
- 9. Amendment of subsections (b) and (c) filed 2-14-2000; operative 3-15-2000 (Register 2000, No. 7).
- 10. Amendment of subsection (b) filed 4-5-2001; operative 5-5-2001 (Register 2001, No. 14).

- 11. Repealer of subsections (b)–(c), new subsections (b)–(e) and subsection relettering filed 12-19-2001 as an emergency; operative 1-1-2002 (Register 2001, No. 51). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL by 5-1-2002 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.
- 12. Certificate of Compliance as to 12-19-2001 order transmitted to OAL 1-8-2002 and filed 2-20-2002 (Register 2002, No. 8).
- 13. Repealer of subsection (b) and subsection relettering filed 2-11-2003; operative 3-1-2003 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2003, No. 7).
- 14. Amendment of subsection (b) filed 5-12-2006; operative 5-12-2006 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2006, No. 19).
- 15. New subsection (c), subsection relettering and amendment of newly designated subsection (e) filed 4-1-2008; operative 4-1-2008 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4 (Register 2008, No. 14).

## § 1392.1. Psychological Assistant Fees.

- (a) The application fee for registration of a psychological assistant which is payable by the supervisor is \$40.00.
- (b) The annual renewal fee for registration of a psychological assistant is \$40.00.
- (c) The delinquency fee for a psychological assistant is \$20.00.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2930, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2688 and 2689, Business and Professions Code. HISTORY:

- New section filed 1-22-79 as an emergency; effective upon filing (Register 79, No. 4).
- 2. Certificate of Compliance filed 3-7-79 (Register 79, No. 10).
- Amendment filed 6-15-83; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 83, No. 25).

## § 1392.2. Professional Corporation Fees.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2930, Business and Professions Code. HISTORY:

- New section filed 4-26-79; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 79, No. 17).
- 2. Repealer filed 6-15-83; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 83, No. 25).