
AB 2296 (Block) - California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 

Introduced February 24, 2012, Chaptered 9126/12 

This bill would require institutions regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education (Bureau) to provide additional disclosures to prospective students. 
Specifically, this bill: 

1) Requires institutions regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education (Bureau) to provide additional disclosures, specifically regarding the 
following: 

a) Whether the institution offers an unaccredited associate, baccalaureate, or 
master's degree and whether a graduate will be able to sit for any applicable 
licensure exam, that the degree is not recognized for some employment 
positions, including positions with the State of California, and that a student 
will not be eligible for federal financial aid; 

b) That the school catalog state whether the institution, or any of its programs, 
are accredited, and if unaccredited to disclose the limitations of any degree 
program as in 1); 

c) That all institutions disclose salary and wage data, and in a manner that the 
bureau deems sufficient to independently determine salary and wage 
information for each graduate of each education program; 

d) That the School Performance Fact Sheet and the annual report disclose the 
institution's most recent three-year cohort default rate and the percentage of 
students receiving federal student loans; 

e) That an institution maintaining a Web site to provide the school catalog, 
School Performance Fact Sheet for each educational program, any 
brochures offered to students, a link to the bureau's Web site in the 
institution's most recent annual report; and, 

f) That specified information used to substantiate the Student Performance 
Fact Sheet data be documented and maintained by the institution for five 
years. 

2) Establishes a new definition of "graduates employed in the field" to mean 
graduates gainfully employed in a position for at least 13 weeks and working at least 
17.5 hours per week in an occupation identified by the institution. 

Existing law establishes the Private Postsecondary Education Act (Act) which, among 
its numerous provisions, requires numerous program performance and student outcome 
data disclosures and prohibits certain conduct on the part of private postsecondary 
education institutions. The Act establishes the Bureau within the Department of 
Consumer Affairs (DCA) to provide oversight and regulation of private postsecondary 
institutions. 

California has a long and arduous history of attempted oversight of the private 
postsecondary education sector. On January 1, 2007, the former law authorizing the 



regulation of the private postsecondary education sector was allowed to sunset. 
Between 2007 and 2009, several attempts to establish a new regulatory structure failed. 
AB 48 (Portantino), Chapter 310, Statutes of 2009, established a new Bureau with the 
Department of Consumer Affairs to enforce the provisions of the new Act, which are 
scheduled to sunset on January 1, 2015. 

On February 14, 2012, the Assembly Higher Education Committee conducted a joint 
legislative oversight hearing with the Senate Business, Professions and Economic 
Development Committee to evaluate California's regulatory structure for private 
postsecondary education. This hearing included a discussion of the Act and the 
Bureau's implementation of its provisions. According to the author, this bill is intended to 
respond to several of the concerns raised in the committee oversight hearing. 

Existing law requires institutions offering unaccredited doctoral degrees to disclose to 
students that the degree is unaccredited, along with any known limitations of the 
degree, including whether the degree is recognized for licensure in California or other 
states. This bill would require institutions to disclose to students whether the institution 
is accredited and the various limitations of unaccredited degrees. Accreditation is a 
voluntary, non-governmental peer review process utilized for the purpose of determining 
academic quality of higher education institutions and programs. Unaccredited degrees 
can limit a student's career options. Some career fields and employers require degrees 
from accredited colleges; this is especially true in professions like education and health 
care, where certification or licensure is a pre-requisite for employment. Degrees from 
unaccredited institutions are not recognized for employment with the State of California. 
Further, students attending unaccredited institutions are not eligible to participate in 
federal and state financial aid programs. 

This bill would establish specific disclosure requirements, and make several changes to 
the way placement rates are calculated and reported. 

Existing law requires the Bureau to post institutional information such as School 
Performance Fact Sheets and school catalogs on the Bureau Web site. However, 
supporters of this bill argue that many students look to institutional Web sites for 
information regarding programs and performance data. This bill would require 
institutions to post on their Web sites specific school and program performance data. 



Assembly Bill No. 2296 

CHAPTER 585 

An act to amend Sections 94897, 94909, 94910, 94911, 94928, 94929.5, 
and 94929.7 of, and to add Section 949 13 to, the Education Code, relating 
to private postsecondary education. 

[Approved by Governor September 26, 2012. Filed with 
Secretary o f State September 26, 2012.] 

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST 

AB 2296, Block. California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009. 
( I ) Existing law, the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 

2009, provides, among other things, for student protections and regulatory 
oversight of private postsecondary schools in the state. The act is enforced 
by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education within the Department 
of Consumer Affairs. The act prohibits an institution, as defined, from, 
among other things, offering an unaccredited doctoral degree program 
without disclosing to prospective students prior to enrollment that the degree 
program is unaccredited, whether the degree issued is in a field that requires 
licensure in California, and any known limitation of the degree, including, 
but not limited to, whether the degree is recognized for licensure or 
certification in California and other states. 

This bil1 would apply that p rohibition to the offering of associate, 
baccalaureate, and master's degree programs without disclosing that the 
institution, or specified degree program, is unaccredited, and would list 
specified limitations of the degree program whose disclosure the bill would 
require. 

(2) The act requires an institution to provide a prospective student prior 
to enrollment with a school catalog, which is required to contain specified 
disclosures relating to the school or a particular educational program. 

This bill would require the school catalog to include a statement specifying 
whether the institution, or any of its programs, are accredited by an 
accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education, 
and, if the institution is unaccredited, or offers an associate, baccalaureate, 
master's, or doctoral degree program that is not accredited , the bi11 would 
require the statement to d isclose the known and specified limitations of the 
degree program. 

(3) The act requires an institution to provide a prospective student prior 
to enrollment with a School Perfonnance Fact Sheet, which is required to 
contain specified information relating to the educational program, including, 
among other things, salary or wage information if the institution or a 
representative of the institution makes any express or implied claim about 
the salary that may be earned after completing the educational program. 
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This bill would remove that limitation, and require all institutions to 
include salary or wage information in the fact sheet, not just institutions 
that make express or implied claims about the salary that may be earned 
after completing the educational program. The bill would require the fact 
sheet to include the most recent 3-year cohort default rate for federal student 
loans reported by the United States Department of Education and the 
percentage of students receiving federal student loans if the institution 
participates in federal financial aid programs, as specified. 

(4) Existing law defines graduates employed in the field for purposes of 
the act. 

This bill would revise that definition to include graduates who are 
gainfully employed within 6 months of a specified date in a single position 
for which the institution represents the program prepares its graduates, as 
specified. 

(5) Existing law requires an institution to annually report specifi ed 
information regarding completion rates, job placement rates, license 
examination passage rates, and salary and wage information to the bureau 
and to publish that information in its School Performance Fact Sheet. 
Existing law requires the information used to substantiate these rates to be 
documented and maintained by the institution for at least 5 years, and 
authorizes an institution to retain the information in electronic format. 

This bill would additionally require an institution to annually report, and 
publish in its School Perfonnance Fact Sheet, the most recent official 3-year 
cohort default rate for federal student loans for the institution and the 
percentage of enrolled students receiving federal student loans. The bill also 
would require the information used to substantiate the annually repo11ed 
rates and information to include specified information, and would require 
an institution to retain the information in an electronic format and make it 
available to the bureau upon request. 

(6) The bill would require an institution that maintains an Internet Web 
site to provide, on that Internet Web site, the school catalog, a School 
Performance Fact Sheet for each educational program offered by the 
institution, student brochures offered by the institution, a link to the bureau's 
Internet Web site, and the institution's most recent annual report submitted 
to the bureau. The bill would also require the institution to include 
information concerning where students may access the bureau 's Internet 
Web site anywhere the institution identifies itself as being approved by the 
bureau. 

The people of the State of California do enact as follows: 

SECTION I. Section 94897 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94897. An institution shall not do any of the following: 
(a) Use, or allow the use of, any reproduction or facsimile of the Great 

Seal of the State of California on a diploma. 
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(b) Promise or guarantee employment, or otherwise overstate the 
availability of jobs upon graduation. 

(c) Advertise concerning job availability, degree of skill, or length of 
time required to learn a trade or skill unless the information is accurate and 
not misleading. 

(d) Advertise, or indicate in promotional material, without including the 
fact that the educational programs are delivered by means of distance 
education if the educational programs are so delivered. 

(e) Advertise, or indicate in promotional material, that the institution is 
accredited, unless the institution has been accredited by an accrediting 
agency. 

(t) Solicit students for enrollment by causing an advertisement to be 
published in " help wanted" columns in a magazine, newspaper, or 
publication, or use "blind" advertising that fails to identify the institution. 

(g) Offer to compensate a student to act as an agent of the institution 
with regard to the solicitation, referral, or recruitment of any person for 
enrollment in the institution, except that an institution may award a token 
gift to a student for referring an individual, provided that the gift is not in 
the form of money, no more than one gift is provided annually to a student, 
and the gift's cost is not more than one hundred dollars($ I 00). 

(h) Pay any consideration to a person to induce that person to sign an 
enrollment agreement for an educational program. 

(i) Use a name in any manner improperly implying any of the following: 
(1) The institution is affi liated with any government agency, public or 

private corporation, agency, or association ifit is not, in fact, thus affiliated. 
(2) The institution is a public institution. 
(3) The institution grants degrees, if the institution does not grant degrees. 
G) In any manner make an untrue or misleading change in, or untrue or 

misleading statement related to, a test score, grade or record of grades, 
attendance record, record indicating student completion, placement, 
employment, salaries, or financial information, including any of the 
following: 

(I) A financial report filed with the bureau. 
(2) lnfom1ation or records relating to the student's eligibility for student 

financial aid at the institution. 
(3) Any other record or document required by this chapter or by the 

bureau. 
(k) Willfully falsify, destroy, or conceal any document of record while 

that document of record is required to be maintained by this chapter. 
(/) Use the tem1s "approval," "approved," "approval to operate," or 

"approved to operate" without stating clearly and conspicuously that approval 
to operate means compliance with state standards as set forth in this chapter. 
If the bureau has granted an institution approval to operate, the institution 
may indicate that the institution is "licensed" or " licensed to operate," but 
may not state or imply either of the following: 

(I) The institution or its educational programs are endorsed or 
recommended by the state or by the bureau. 
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(2) The approval to operate indicates that the institution exceeds minimum 
state standards as set forth in this chapter. 

(m) Direct any individual to perform an act that violates this chapter, to 
refrain from reporting unlawful conduct to the bureau or another government 
agency, or to engage in any unfair act to persuade a student not to complain 
to the bureau or another government agency. 

(n) Compensate an employee involved in recruitment, enrollment, 
admissions, student attendance, or sales of educational materials to students 
on the basis of a commission, commission draw, bonus, quota, or other 
similar method related to the recruitment, enrollment, admissions, sh1dent 
attendance, or sales of educational materials to shldents, except as provided 
in paragraph (I) or (2): 

(I) If the educational program is scheduled to be completed in 90 days 
or less, the institution shall pay compensation related to a particular student 
only if that student completes the educational program. 

(2) For institutions participating in the federal student financial aid 
programs, this subdivision shall not prevent the payment of compensation 
to those involved in recruitment, admissions, or the award of financial aid 
if those payments are in conformity with federal regulations governing an 
institution's participation in the federal student financial aid programs. 

( o) Require a prospective student to provide personal contact information 
in order to obtain, from the institution's Internet Web site, educational 
program infornmtion that is required to be contained in the school catalog 
or any information required pursuant to the consumer information 
requirements of Title IV of the federal Higher Education Act of 1965, and 
any amendments thereto. 

(p) Offer an associate, baccalaureate, master's, or doctoral degree without 
disclosing to prospective students prior to enrollment whether the institution 
or the degree program is unaccredited and any known limitation of the 
degree, including, but not limited to, all of the following: 

(I) Whether a graduate of the degree program will be eligible to sit for 
the applicable licensure exam in California and other states. 

(2) A statement that reads: "A degree program that is unaccredited or a 
degree from an unaccredited institution is not recognized for some 
employment positions, including, but not limited to, positions with the State 
of California." 

(3) That a student enrolled in an unaccredited institution is not eligible 
for federal financial aid programs. 

SEC. 2. Section 94909 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94909. (a) Prior to enrollment, an institution shall provide a prospective 

student, either in writing or electronically, with a school catalog containing, 
at a minimum, all of the following: 

(I) The name, address, telephone number, and, if applicable, Internet 
Web site address of the institution. 

(2) Except as specified in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), 
a statement that the institution is a private institution and that it is approved 
to operate by the bureau. 
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(3) The following statements: 
(A) "Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have 

not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at (address), Sacramento, CA 
(ZIP Code), (lnternet Web site address), (telephone and fax numbers)." 

(B) "As a prospective srudent, you are encouraged to review this catalog 
prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review 
the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior 
to signing an enrollment agreement." 

(C) "A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about 
this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by 
calling (toll-free telephone number) or by completing a complaint form, 
which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Web site (Internet Web site 
address)." 

(4) The address or addresses where class sessions will be held. 
(5) A description of the programs offered and a description of the 

instruction provided in each of the courses offered by the institution, the 
requirements for completion of each program, including required courses, 
any final tests or examinations, any required internships or externships, and 
the total number of credit hours, clock hours, or other increments required 
for completion. 

(6) If the educational program is designed to lead to positions in a 
profession, occupation, trade, or career field requiring Ii censure in this state, 
a notice to that effect and a list of the requirements for eligibility for 
licensure. 

(7) Information regarding the faculty and their qualifications . 
(8) A detailed description of institutional policies in the following areas: 
(A) Admissions policies, including the institution's policies regarding 

the acceptance of credits earned at other institutions or through challenge 
examinations and achievement tests, admissions requirements for 
ability-to-benefit students, and a list describing any transfer or articulation 
agreements between the institution and any other college or university that 
provides for the transfer of credits earned in the program of instruction. If 
the institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with 
any other college or university, the institution shall disclose that fact. 

(B) Cancellation, withdrawal, and refund policies, including an 
explanation that the student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement 
and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class 
session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. The text 
shall also include a description of the procedures that a student is required 
to follow to cancel the enrollment agreement or withdraw from the institution 
and obtain a refund consistent with the requirements of Article I 3 
( commencing with Section 949 19). 

(C) Probation and dismissal policies. 
(D) Attendance polic ies. 
(E) Leave-of-absence policies. 
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(9) The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance and an 
estimated schedule of total charges for the entire educational program. 

( I 0) A statement reporting whether the institution participates in federal 
and state financial aid programs, and if so, all consumer infonnation that is 
required to be disclosed to the student pursuant to the applicable federal 
and state financial aid programs. 

( 11) A statement specifying that, if a student obtains a loan to pay for an 
educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the 
full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, 
if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student 
is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial 
aid program funds. 

(12) A statement specifying whether the institution has a pending petition 
in bankruptcy, is operating as a debtor in possession, has filed a petition 
within the preceding five years, or has had a petition in bankruptcy fi led 
against it within the preceding fi ve years that resulted in reorganization 
under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code {I I U.S.C. Sec. 
110 I et seq.). 

{13) If the institution provides p lacement services, a description of the 
nature and extent of the placement services. 

(1 4) A description of the student's rights and responsibilities with respect 
to the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. This statement shall specify that it 
is a state requirement that a student who pays his or her tuition is required 
to pay a state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. 
This statement shall also describe the purpose and operation of the Student 
Tuition Recovery Fund and the requirements for filing a claim against the 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund. 

( 15) The following statement: 

"NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND 
CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION 

The transferability of credits you earn at (name of institution) is at 
the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to 
transfer. Acceptance of the (degree, diploma, or certificate) you earn 
in (name of educational program) is also at the complete discretion of 
the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the (credits or 
degree, diploma, or certificate) that you earn at this institution are not 
accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be 
required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. 
For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this 
institution will meet your educational goals. This may include 
contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after 
attending (name of institution) to determine if your ( credits or degree, 
diploma or certificate) will transfer." 

(16) A statement specifying whether the institution, or any of its degree 
programs, are accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United 
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States Department of Education. If the institution is unaccredited and offers 
an associate, baccalaureate, master's, or doctoral degree, or is accredited 
and offers an unaccredited program for an associate, baccalaureate, master's, 
or doctoral degree, the statement shall disclose the known limitations of the 
degree program, including, but not limited to, all of the following: 

(A) Whether a graduate of the degree program will be eligible to sit for 
the applicable licensure exam in California and other states. 

{B) A degree program that is unaccredited or a degree from an 
unaccredited institution is not recognized for some employment positions, 
including, but not limited to, positions with the State of California. 

(C) That a student enrolled in an unaccredited institution is not eligible 
for federal financial aid programs. 

(b) If the institution has a general student brochure, the institution shall 
provide that brochure to the prospective student prior to enrollment. In 
addition, if the institution has a program-specific student brochure for the 
program in which the prospective student seeks to enroll, the institution 
shall provide the program-specific student brochure to the prospective 
student prior to enrollment. 

(c) An institution shall provide the school catalog to any person upon 
request. In addition, if the institution has student brochures, the institution 
shall disclose the requested brochures to any interested person upon request. 

SEC. 3. Section 949 10 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94910. Prior to enrollment, an institution shall provide a prospective 

student with a School Performance Fact Sheet containing, at a minimum, 
the following information, as it relates to the educational program: 

(a) Completion rates, as calculated pursuant to Article 16 ( commencing 
with Section 94928). 

(b) Placement rates for each educational program, as calculated pursuant 
to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928), if the educational program 
is designed to lead to, or the institution makes any express or implied claim 
related to preparing students for, a recognized career, occupation, vocation, 
job, or job title. 

(c) License examination passage rates for programs leading to 
employment for which passage of a state licensing examination is required, 
as calculated pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928). 

(d) Salary or wage information, as calculated pursuant to Article 16 
(commencing with Section 94928). 

( e) If a program is too new to provide data for any of the categories listed 
in this subdivision, the institution shall state on its fact sheet: "This program 
is new. Therefore, the number of students who graduate, the number of 
students who are placed, or the starting salary you can earn after finishing 
the educational program are unknown at this time. lnfonnation regarding 
general salary and placement statistics may be available from government 
sources or from the institution, but is not equivalent to actual performance 
data." 

(f) All of the following: 
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( I) A description of the manner in which the figures described in 
subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, are calculated or a statement informing 
the reader of where he or she may obtain a description of the manner in 
which the figures described in subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, are 
calculated. 

(2) A statement informing the reader of where he or she may obtain from 
the institution a list of the employment positions determined to be within 
the field for which a student received education and training for the 
calculation of job placement rates as required by subdivision (b ). 

(3) A statement informing the reader of where heor she may obtain from 
the institution a list of the objective sources of information used to 
substantiate the salary disclosure as required by subdivision (d). 

(g) The following statements: 
(l) "This fact sheet is filed with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education. Regardless of any information you may have relating to 
completion rates, placement rates, starting salaries, or license exam passage 
rates, this fact sheet contains the information as calculated pursuant to state 
law." 

(2) "Any questions a student may have regarding this fact sheet that have 
not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at (address), Sacramento, CA 
(ZlP Code), (lntcmet Web site address), (telephone and fax numbers)." 

(h) If the institution participates in federal financial aid programs, the 
most recent three-year cohort default rate reported by the United States 
Department of Education for the institution and the percentage of enrolled 
students receiving federal student loans. 

SEC. 4. Section 94911 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94911. An enrollment agreement shall include, at a minimum, all of the 

following: 
(a) The name of the institution and the name of the educational program, 

including the total number of credit hours, clock hours, or other increment 
required to complete the educational program. 

(b) A schedule of total charges, including a list of any charges that are 
nonrefundable and the student's obligations to the Student Tuition Recovery 
Fund, clearly identified as nonrefundable charges. 

(c) In underlined capital letters on the same page of the enrollment 
agreement in which the student's signature is required, the total charges for 
the current period of attendance, the estimated total charges for the entire 
educational program, and the total charges the student is obligated to pay 
upon enrollment. 

(d) A clear and conspicuous statement that the enrollment agreement is 
legally binding when signed by the student and accepted by the institution. 

(e) (I) A disclosure with a clear and conspicuous caption, "STUDENT'S 
RIGHT TO CANCEL," under which it is explained that the student has the 
right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid 
through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after 
enrollment, whichever is later. 
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(2) The disclosure shall contain the institution's refund policy and a 
statement that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, 
the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student 
financial aid program funds. 

(3) The text shall also include a description of the procedures that a 
student is required to follow to cancel the enrollment agreement or withdraw 
from the institution and obtain a refund. 

(f) A statement specifying that, if the student obtains a loan to pay for 
an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay 
the full amount of the loan p lus interest, less the amount of any refund. 

(g) A statement specifying that, if the student is eligible for a loan 
guaranteed by the federal or state government and the student defaults on 
the loan, both of the following may occur: 

(I) The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take 
action against the student, including applying any income tax refund to 
which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. 

(2) The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial 
aid at another institution or other government assistance unti l the loan is 
repaid . 

(h) The transferability disclosure that is required to be included in the 
school catalog, as specified in paragraph ( 15) of subdivision (a) of Section 
94909. 

(i) (I) The following statement: "Prior to signing this enrollment 
agreement, you must be given a catalog or brochure and a School 
Performance Fact Sheet, which you are encouraged to review prior to signing 
this agreement. These documents contain important policies and performance 
data for this institution. This institution is required to have you sign and 
date the information included in the School Performance Fact Sheet relating 
to completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, 
salaries or wages, and the most recent three-year cohort default rate, if 
applicable, prior to signing this agreement." 

(2) Immediately following the statement required by paragraph (I), a 
line for the student to initial, including the following statement: " I certify 
that I have received the catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet, and 
information regarding completion rates, placement rates, license examination 
passage rates, salary or wage information, and the most recent three-year 
cohort default rate, if applicable, included in the School Performance Fact 
sheet, and have signed, initialed, and dated the information provided in the 
School Performance Fact Sheet." 

U) The following statements: 

( 1) "Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment 
agreement that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution 
may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 
(address), Sacramento, CA (ZIP Code), (Internet Web site address), 
(telephone and fax numbers)." 
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(2) "A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about 
this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by 
calling (toll-free telephone number) or by completing a complaint fonn, 
which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Web site (Internet Web site 
address)." 

(k) The following statement above the space for the student's signature: 

"I understand that this is a legally binding contract. My signature below 
certifies that I have read, understood, and agreed to my rights and 
responsibilities, and that the institution's cancellation and refund 
policies have been clearly explained to me." 

SEC. 5. Section 94913 is added to the Education Code, to read: 
94913. (a) An institution that maintains an Internet Web site shall 

provide on that Internet Web site all of the following: 
(I) The school catalog. 
(2) A School Performance Fact Sheet for each educational program 

offered by the institution. 
(3) Student brochures offered by the institution. 
(4) A link to the bureau's Internet Web site. 
(5) The institution's most recent annual report submitted to the bureau. 
(b) An institution shall include information concerning where students 

may access the bureau's Internet Web site anywhere the institution identifies 
itself as being approved by the bureau. 

SEC. 6. Section 94928 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94928. As used in this article, the following terms have the following 

meanings: 
(a) "Cohort population" means the number of students that began a 

program on a cohort start date. 
(b) "Cohort start date" means the first class day after the cancellation 

period during which a cohort of students attends class for a specific program. 
( c) "Graduates" means the number of students who complete a program 

within l 00 percent of the published program length. An institution may 
separately state completion information for sn1dents completing the program 
within 150 percent of the original contracted time, but that inforn1ation may 
not replace completion information for students completing within the 
original scheduled time. Completion information shall be separately stated 
for each campus or branch of the institution. 

( d) "Graduates available for employment" means the number of graduates 
minus the number of graduates unavailable for employment. 

(e) (I) "Graduates employed in the field" means graduates who are 
gainfully employed in a single position for which the institution represents 
the program prepares its graduates within six months after a student 
completes the applicable educational program. For occupations for which 
the state requires passing an examination, the period of employment shall 
begin within six months of the announcement of the examination results 
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for the first examination available after a student completes an applicable 
educational program. 

(2) The bureau shall define by July 1, 2014, specific measures and 
standards for determining whether a student is gainfully employed in a 
full-time or part-time position for which the institution represents the 
program prepares its graduates, including self-employment or conducting 
freelance work, and may set the standards for the hours per week and 
duration of employment and utilize any job classification methodology the 
bureau determines appropriate for this purpose, including, but not limited 
to, the United States Department of Labor's Standard Occupational 
Classification codes. 

(3) This subdivision does not prohibit the bureau from authorizing an 
institution to aggregate single positions held by a graduate for purposes of 
meeting the hours per week standards established by the bureau. 

(f) "Graduates unavailable for employment" means graduates who, after 
graduation, die, become incarcerated, are called to active military duty, are 
international students that leave the United States or do not have a visa 
allowing employment in the United States, or are continuing their education 
at an accredited or bureau-approved postsecondary institution. 

(g) "Students available for graduation" means the cohort population 
minus the number of students unavailable for graduation. 

(h) "Students unavailable for graduation" means students who have died, 
been incarcerated, or called to active military duty. 

SEC. 7. Section 94929.5 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94929.5. (a) An institution shall annually report to the bureau, as part 

of the annual report, and shall publish in its School Performance Fact Sheet, 
all of the following: 

(I) The job placement rate, calculated by dividing the number of graduates 
employed in the field by the number of graduates available for employment 
for each program that is either (I) designed, or advertised, to lead to a 
particular career, or (2) advertised or promoted with any claim regarding 
job placement. 

(2) The license examination passage rates for the immediately preceding 
two years for programs leading to employment for which passage ofa state 
licensing examination is required, calculated by dividing the number of 
graduates who pass the examination by the number of graduates who take 
the licensing examination the first time that the examination is available 
after completion of the educational program. The institution shall use state 
agency licensing data to calculate license examination passage rates. If those 
data are unavailable, the institution shall calculate the license examination 
passage rate in a manner consistent with regulations adopted by the bureau. 

(3) Salary and wage information, consisting of the total number of 
graduates employed in the field and the annual wages or salaries of those 
graduates stated in increments of five thousand dollars ($5,000). 

(4) If applicable, the most recent official three-year cohort default rate 
reported by the United States Department of Education for the institution 
and the percentage of enrolled students receiving federal student loans. 
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(b) Nothing in this section shall limit the bureau's authority to collect 
information from an institution to comply with this section and ensure, by 
regulation and other lawful means, that the information required by this 
section, and the manner in which it is collected and reported, is all of the 
following: 

( 1) Useful to students. 
(2) Useful to policymakers. 
(3) Based upon the most credible and verifiable data available. 
(4) Does not impose undue compliance burdens on an institution. 
SEC. 8. Section 94929.7 of the Education Code is amended to read: 
94929.7. (a) The information used to substantiate the rates and 

information calculated pursuant to Sections 94929 and 94929.5 shall do 
both of the following: 

(1) Be documented and maintained by the institution for five years from 
the date of the publication of the rates and infom1ation. 

(2) Be retained in an electronic format and made available to the bureau 
upon request. 

(b) An institution shall provide a list of employment positions used to 
determine the number of graduates employed in the field for purposes of 
calculating job placement rates pursuant to this article. 

(c) The bureau shall identify the specific information that an institution 
is required to document and maintain to substantiate rates and information 
pursuant to this section. 
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vocational students get more protections 

Brown signs bill requiring schools to post graduation rates, 
accreditation status 

By Jennifer Gollan on September 27, 2012 - 12:01 a.m. PDT 

Jeffrey Hamilton/Photodisc/Thinkstock 

California's private vocational schools must disclose critical details about the quality of their 
programs, including their accreditation status and graduation rates, under a bill signed yesterday by 
Gov. Jerry Brown. 

The law, which takes effect Jan. l, will require vocational schools offering associate, bachelor's, 
master's and doctoral degrees to indicate in their course catalogs whether they are accredited. Schools 
that are not accredited must inform students of any drawbacks to their degrees, such as whether 
certifying agencies would prohibit them from taking licensing exams. 

In addition, schools will have to post job placement and graduation rates, and how much graduates 
earn, among other data. The law also requires vocational schools to post annual reports, student 
brochures and course catalogues on their websites. 

The legislation was sponsored by Assemblyman Marty Block, D-San Diego, in response to a series of 
stories by The Bay Citizen, which revealed California regulators' lax oversight of for-profit 
vocational schools and diploma mills. 

The Bay Citizen found that the state agency responsible for oversight, the California Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education, had allowed dozens of unaccredited schools to operate for years 
without state approval or inspections. In addition, the agency did not investigate some complaints 
against schools or shut down illegal diploma mills - schools that offer dubious degrees for little 
coursework and that lack accreditation by a recognized government agency. 

The bureau was launched in January 2010 to strengthen protections for students attending private 
vocational schools. It replaced a regulatory agency that was disbanded in 2007 because lawmakers 
deemed it ineffective. State regulators said budget cuts and hiring freezes had prevented the current 
bureau from holding more schools accountable. 

Block said the new law improves protections for the 400,000 vocational students in California, many 
of whom are from low-income backgrounds. 

"At these schools, students are often spending $40,000 or more," said Block, who is chairman of the 
Assembly Higher Education Committee. "They are often doing so without sufficient information, and 
this will give them the information they need to make a smart consumer choice." 

http:/ /www.baycitizen.org/ government/story/ governor-signs-law-requiring-more/ 9/27/2012 
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Most notably, graduates of unaccredited institutions face limited job prospects. They are barred from 
many civil service jobs in states such as California, Michigan and Oregon, as well as most jobs 
requiring professional licenses and teaching certificates. 

Related 

• 
None 
More protections for students at vocational schools close at hand 

None 
More than 75 vocational schools under investigation 

None 
Lawmakers: State must crack down on diploma mills 

Despite past problems, bureau officials say they are prepared to enforce the law. 

"Most of it will be on the schools to comply," said Russ Heimerich, a spokesman for the state 
Department of Consumer Affairs, which oversees the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education. "If schools don' t follow the law, it will be on the bureau to take enforcement actions. It is 
not like it is creating additional work for us, except that we will be checking to make sure the schools 
are making their additional disclosures." 

Following The Bay Citizen's series, the state shut down a medical school that made false claims about 
its accreditation status and regulators pledged to investigate 77 schools operating without state 
approval. The bureau's head of enforcement resigned, and Brown named a new bureau chief. 

Student advocates praised Brown for signing the measure. 

"This bill takes a big step forward in better protecting students," said Elisabeth Voigt, a senior staff 
attorney at Public Advocates, a civil rights organization based in San Francisco. "One of the major 
reasons this is so important is that it makes sure that low-income students have fact-based 
counterweights to very aggressive recruiting practices by for-profit schools." 

WANT MORE NEWS LIKE THIS? 
Get the Morning Briefing from The Bay Citizen 

Related 

• More protections for students at 
vocational schools close at hand 

• More than 75 vocational schools under 
investigation 

• Lawmakers: State must crack down on 
diploma mills 
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