

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY . GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR.

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY – Administration 1625 N. Market Blvd., N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834 P (916) 574-7720 F (916) 574-8671 www.psychology.ca.gov



MEMORANDUM

DATE	June 12, 2015
то	Board of Psychology Members
FROM	Jonathan Burke Administrative Services Coordinator
SUBJECT	AB 773 (Baker) - Expiration of License/Birth Date Renewal Legislation -

Background:

This is a Board sponsored bill that seeks to establish that all psychologists' initial license periods are 24 months. This change will stop first time licensees being charged a full two-year fee for an abbreviated license period. The proposed language was approved by the Board at the November, 2014 meeting in San Diego.

The bill is being authored by Assemblymember Baker (R - AD16). The bill passed through the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions on consent and the Assembly Committee on Appropriations on consent. The bill passed the Assembly on consent with 77 aye votes to zero noes.

AB 773 is now in the Senate where it passed through the Business and Professions Committee on consent. The bill will now be considered by the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Action Requested:

The staff recommendation is to continue to "Support" AB 773 (Baker).

Attachment A is the bill language. Attachment B is the Board's Support Letter.



AB-773 Licenses: Medical Board of California: Board of Psychology. (2015-2016)

AMENDED IN SENATE JUNE 01, 2015 AMENDED IN SENATE MAY 21, 2015

CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE- 2015-2016 REGULAR SESSION

ASSEMBLY BILL

No. 773

Introduced by Assembly Member Baker

February 25, 2015

An act to amend Sections 2423 and 2982 of, to add Section 2499.7 to, and to repeal Section 2422 of, the Business and Professions Code, relating to business and professions.

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

AB 773, as amended, Baker. Licenses: Medical Board of California: Board of Psychology.

Existing law provides for the licensure and regulation of specific health care professions by the Medical Board of California or a licensing and regulatory authority within the jurisdiction of that board. The Medical Practice Act determines the expiration of, and governs the renewal of, certificates, licenses, registrations, and permits issued by or under the Medical Board of California, including physician and surgeon's certificates, certificates to practice podiatric medicine, physical therapy licenses and approvals, registrations of research psychoanalysts, registrations of dispensing opticians, registrations of nonresident contact lens sellers, registrations of spectacle lens dispensers, registrations of contact lens dispensers, certificates to practice midwifery, and fictitious name permits. California. Under the act, physician and surgeon's certificates, certificates to practice podiatric medicine, registrations of spectacle lens dispensers and contact lens dispensers, and certificates to practice midwifery expire on the last day of the birth month of the licensee during the 2nd year of a 2-year term.

The Psychology Licensing Law establishes the Board of Psychology to license and regulate the practice of psychology. Under that law, psychology licenses expire on the legal birth date of the licensee during the 2nd year of a 2-year term.

This bill would instead have-all of the above licenses, with the exception of certificates to practice podiatric *medicine*, expire at the end, as provided, of a 2-year period from the date the license was issued.

Vote: majority Appropriation: no Fiscal Committee: yes Local Program: no

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. Section 2422 of the Business and Professions Code is repealed.

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB773

SEC. 2. Section 2423 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

2423. (a) All physician and surgeon's certificates, certificates to practice podiatric medicine, registrations of dispensing opticians, spectacle lens dispensers, and contact lens dispensers, and certificates to practice midwifery shall expire at 12 midnight on the last day of the month in which the license was issued during the second year of a two-year term commencing from the date of issuance.

(b) To renew an unexpired license, the licensee, on or before the date on which it would otherwise expire, shall apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the licensing authority and pay the prescribed renewal fee.

SEC. 3. Section 2499.7 is added to the Business and Professions Code, to read:

2499.7. (a) Certificates to practice podiatric medicine shall expire at 12 midnight on the last day of the birth month of the licensee during the second year of a two-year term.

(b) To renew an unexpired certificate, the licensee, on or before the date on which it would otherwise expire, shall apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the board and pay the prescribed renewal fee.

SEC. 3.SEC. 4. Section 2982 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

2982. (a) All licenses expire and become invalid at 12 midnight on the last day of February, 1980, and thereafter shall expire at 12 midnight of the last date of the two-year period from the date the license was issued.

(b) To renew an unexpired license, the licensee, on or before the date on which it would otherwise expire, shall apply for renewal on a form provided by the board, accompanied by the prescribed renewal fee.

6/15/2015



BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY · GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR. Board of Psychology- Executive Office 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N215, Sacramento, CA 95834 P 916-574-7720 F 916-574-8672 | www.psychology.ca.gov



May 22, 2015

The Honorable Catherine Baker California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 4153 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 773 (BAKER) – PSYCHOLOGY LICENSING AMENDED - MAY 21, 2015 SPONSOR & SUPPORT

Dear Assemblymember Baker:

The California Board of Psychology (Board) is sponsoring and **SUPPORTS AB 773**, which will ensure initial psychologist licenses expire two years from the initial issuance date.

First time licensees of the Board are currently paying the full license amount for their license when they are not always receiving that license for the complete two-year period. First time licensees are at the start of their careers as psychologists and have often incurred significant student debts in the process of earning undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. The establishment of an initial license period that is always 24 months will stop these licensees paying a full fee for an abbreviated license period.

The Board's mission is to advance quality psychological services for Californians by ensuring ethical and legal practice and supporting the evolution of the profession.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact the Board's Executive Officer, Antonette Sorrick, at (916) 574-7113. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Alteria

MICHAEL ERICKSON, PH.D. President, Board of Psychology