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INSTRUCTIONS: 
• Renew using the BreEZe online system for faster processing. 
• Do not mail to the Board more than 75 days prior to license expiration date or form and payment will be returned. 
• Mail completed form and fee(s) to: Board of Psychology, 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834. 
• Make certified checks, cashier's checks, money orders, or personal checks payable to the Board of Psychology. 
• Licensees on Inactive status are prohibited from engaging in the practice/provision of psychological services. 
• Failure to complete any portion of this renewal application will result in processing delays. 
• Please print or type your information into the blank fields. Illegible applications will be returned. 
• Do not send the Board your CE course certificates with your renewal. 

PSYLICENSE NUMBER:LICENSEE NAME: 

EMAIL ADDRESS (if any):

RENEWAL STATUS (Check the appropriate box(es)): SELECT TOTAL AMOUNT DUE: 

 ACTIVE $430.00 

 DELINQUENCY FEE (ACTIVE) $150.00* 

 INACTIVE $60.00 

 DELINQUENCY FEE (INACTIVE) $20.00 

*Pursuant to Section 2984 of the Business and Professions Code, if the license is renewed after the expiration date, the licensee will 
be required to pay the $150.00 delinquency fee. 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CERTIFICATION: I successfully completed hours of continuing education required 
for renewal of my license. Yes*  No 

CONVICTION/DISCIPLINE: Since you last renewed your license, omitting traffic infractions underF 
$500.00 not involving alcohol, a dangerous drug, or a controlled substance, have you been convicted of any 

    violations of law in this or any other state, the United States or its territories, military court, or other county, 
or have you been disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body 16 CCR § 1381.7(c)? 

* If you answer yes to the conviction question, please send certified copies of the court records to the address above. 

LAW AND ETHICS REQUIREMENT: Have you obtained training in the subject of laws and ethics, as they     
apply to the practice of psychology in California 16 CCR § 1397.61(b)? 

AB 89 (2017) SUICIDE PREVENTION TRAINING REQUIREMENT: Have you completed the one-time, 
six (6) hour suicide risk assessment and intervention coursework or applied experience requirement as     
required by Section 2915.4 of the Business and Professions Code? 

I swear under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all statements, answers, and 
representations on this form are true, complete and accurate. 

Signature: Date: 
(Revised 1/2020) 
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RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) [Pursuant to Code §2915(a) and 16 CCR §1397.61(a)] – You must complete 36 
hours of approved CE each renewal cycle unless you have a Board approved exception or exemption, and you 
must self-certify the number of CE hours you have completed on your renewal application. You are required to 
retain your CE certificates for a minimum of four (4) years; the Board conducts compliance audits and, if 
audited, you will be required to provide proof of completion. CE courses must be approved by the American 
Psychological Association (APA), California Psychological Association (CPA), California Medical Association 
(CMA) or the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). Do not send CE course 
certificates with your renewal application. 

CONVICTION/DISCIPLINE [Pursuant to 16 CCR § 1381.7(c-d)] – Subsequent to the issuance of your license or 
since you last renewed, (1) have you been convicted of any violation of the law in this or any other state, the 
United States or its territories, military court or other country, omitting traffic infractions under $500 not 
involving alcohol, a dangerous drug, or a controlled substance, or (2) had any license disciplined by a 
government agency or other disciplinary body. Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, 
revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, reprimand, or any other restriction on a license or registration held. 

In answering the above question, do NOT list charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the California 
Penal Code or equivalent non-California laws, or convictions two years or older under California Health 
and Safety Code sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e), or section 11360(b). Include all other arrests, pleas, and 
convictions for misdemeanors and felonies, and traffic infractions involving drugs or alcohol, and all other 
infractions resulting in fines $500 and over. If you answer yes to the conviction question, please send certified 
copies of the court records to 1625 N. Market Blvd., Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834. PROOF OF DISMISSAL: 
If you have obtained a dismissal of your convictions(s) pursuant to Penal Code sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 
1203.41, please submit a certified copy of the court order dismissing the conviction(s) to the address above. 

LAW & ETHICS – [Pursuant to 16 CCR §1397.61 (b)] – You must state whether you have obtained training in the 
subject of laws and ethics. This training could have been obtained in one or more of the following ways (1) 
formal coursework from an educational institution, (2) approved CE course [meeting requirements set forth in 
1397.60(c)], (3) workshops in laws and ethics, or (4) other experience which provide direction and education in 
laws and ethics. 

AB 89 (2017) SUICIDE PREVENTION TRAINING REQUIREMENT – [Pursuant to Code §2915.4] – At the time of 
a licensees first renewal after January 1, 2020, a licensee must attest on their renewal form to meeting a 
one-time, six (6) hour suicide risk assessment and intervention coursework or applied experience requirement. 
For a licensee with an expired or inactive license, the six (6) hour requirement must be completed prior to 
renewing or reactivating the license. Licensees can meet this requirement by obtaining training in one of three 
ways: 1) as part of their qualifying graduate degree program, 2) as part of their supervised professional 
experience, or 3) by taking approved, structured, sequenced learning activity, whether conducted in-person or 
online. The continuing education (CE) course must be approved by organizations approved by the Board. 
NOTE: if satisfying the requirement by taking a qualifying CE course, the course may be taken at any time prior 
to the application for that renewal, and the course may be applied to the continuing education requirements in 
the renewal cycle during which the course was actually taken. 

LICENSED MENTAL HEALTH SERVICE PROVIDER EDUCATION (MHSPEP) – [Pursuant to Code §2987.2] – 
Effective July 1, 2018, the Board is required to collect $20 in addition to the renewal fee to support grants to 
licensed mental health service providers who provide direct patient care in a publicly funded facility or a 
mental health professional shortage area. 

FAMILY SUPPORT LEGISLATION – [Pursuant to Code §30 and §31] – The collection of your social security 
numbers is required for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support. A temporary 
license may be issued for initial or renewed licenses to applicants not in compliance with any judgment or 
order for family support. Pursuant to Family Code §17520, if compliance has not been established prior to the 
expiration of the temporary license, the license shall be denied. 

NOTICE OF TAX OBLIGATION – [Pursuant to Code §494.5] – The State Board of Equalization and the Franchise 
Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the Board. California law requires you to pay your state tax 
obligation. If you fail to pay your state tax obligation, your license may be suspended. 
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

RENEWAL POSTMARKED AFTER EXPIRATION DATE 
If your renewal form/fee are postmarked after your license's expiration date, payment of a delinquency fee is 
required. There is no grace period. 

INACTIVE STATUS 
An inactive license must still be renewed. A psychologist holding an inactive license shall be exempt from CE 
requirements but cannot engage in the practice of psychology. An inactive license can be reactivated at anytime 
by completing the CE requirements at the time of reactivation and paying the renewal fee. 

EXPIRED LICENSES 
• A license that is not renewed by the expiration date is deemed expired. It is illegal to practice on an 

expired license. 
• A licensee may not supervise or sign off on hours for trainees while the license is expired or inactive. 
• A licensee is not entitled to payment by a client or an insurer for services performed while license is 

expired or inactive. 

LICENSE CANCELLATION AFTER 3 YEARS 
Pursuant to 16 CCR section 1397.67(b), a license that is not renewed within 3 years after its expiration date will be 
cancelled. To be licensed again, you will be required to reapply for a new license, meet all current requirements 
and pass the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE). 

COLLECTION AND USE OF PERSONAL INFORMATION 
The Department of Consumer Affairs and the California Board of Psychology collect the information requested on 
this form as authorized by Business and Professions Code sections 325 and 326 and the Information Practices Act 
(Civil Code section 1798 et seq.). 

ACCESS TO YOUR INFORMATION 
You may review the records maintained by the California Board of Psychology that contain your personal 
information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. See contact information below. 

POSSIBLE DISCLOSURE OF PERSONAL INFORMATION 
We make every effort to protect the personal information you provide us. However, we may need to share the 
information you give us with other government agencies. This may include sharing any personal information you 
gave us. 
The information you provide may also be disclosed in the following circumstances: 

• In response to a Public Records Act request, as allowed by the Information Practices Act; 
• To another government agency as required by State or Federal law; or 
• In response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. 

CONTACT INFORMATION 
For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact the California Board of Psychology, 
1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834; by phone at (866) 503-3221; or by e-mail 
at boprenewals@dca.ca.gov. For questions about the Department’s Privacy Policy, you may contact the 
Department of Consumer Affairs at 1625 North Market Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95834; by phone at 
(800) 952-5210; or by e-mail at dca@dca.ca.gov. 
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