LEGISLATIVE ADVISORY: AB 2253 (Low) Chapter 279, Statutes of 2020 – Professional Licensure.

## **OPERATIVE DATE OF LEGISLATION: JANUARY 1, 2021**

## **Attention Board of Psychology (Board) stakeholders:**

Assembly Bill (AB) 2253 (Low, Chapter 279, Statutes of 2020) was signed by Governor Gavin Newsom on September 29, 2020, and takes effect January 1, 2021.

This law clarifies that in a training setting exempt from registration with the Board pursuant to either the Health and Safety Code, Penal Code, or Welfare and Institutions Code, experience that constitutes qualifying experience for licensure, means experience that meets the requirements of 2914(d) of the California Business and Professions Code. Specifically, the Section specifies that individuals:

Have engaged for at least two years in supervised professional experience under the direction of a licensed psychologist, the specific requirements of which shall be defined by the board in its regulations, or under suitable alternative supervision as determined by the board in regulations duly adopted under this chapter, at least one year of which shall be after being awarded the doctorate in psychology.

Please be aware, this bill does not change the Board's existing authority in reviewing qualifying experience necessary for licensure pursuant to our laws and regulations. The Board does not grant or extend waivers authorized under the Welfare and Institutions Code, the Penal Code, or the Health and Safety Code. Individuals will need to contact the department issuing the waiver with any questions.

## **IMPLEMENTATION:**

The Board does not have any implementation activities associated with AB 2253.

To view the text of the chaptered bill, click here: (Attach Chaptered Text)

Below is a list of Exempt Settings and Authorizing Statute, for clarity.

Exempt Setting Type	Authorizing Statute	Waiver Granting Entity	Waiver Limitation
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) Facilities, DSH Facilities	Penal Code section 5068.5	CDCR	4 years (from the date employment commences) and only for the purposes of gaining qualifying experience required for licensure.  Note: extensions may be granted to employees with extenuating circumstances (1 year) and part-

Exempt Setting Type	Authorizing Statute	Waiver Granting Entity	Waiver Limitation
			time employees (proportional to the extent of part-time employment), but not exceeding 5 years total.
California Department of Public Health (CDPH) Licensed Facilities under Health and Safety Code (HSC) section 1250 et. seq.	Health and Safety Code section 1277(b)	CDPH	4 years (from the date employment commences) and only to the extent necessary to qualify for licensure.  Note: extensions may be granted to employees with extenuating circumstances (1 year) and part-time employees (proportional to the extent of part-time employment), but not exceeding 5 years total.
Local Mental Health Programs	Welfare and Institutions Code section 5751.2(d)	Department of Health Care Services	5 years (from the date of employment/contract) and only for the purposes of gaining experience required for licensure.