Text Size Small Medium Large

Legislative Advisory: SB 815 (Roth), Healing Arts: Registered Research Psychoanalysts

SB 815 (Roth, Chaptered by Secretary of State. Chapter 294, Statutes of 2023) was signed by Governor Newsom on September 30, 2023, and becomes effective January 1, 2025.

This bill extends the sunset date for the Medical Board of California and impacts the Board of Psychology in the following ways:

1) Commencing January 1, 2025, SB 815 transfers the administration and enforcement duties relating to the registration of research psychoanalysts from the Medical Board of California to the Board of Psychology (“Board”).

2) Under existing law, each person to whom a research psychoanalyst registration is granted must pay specified fees into the Contingent Fund of the Medical Board of California. This bill requires that all moneys collected into this Contingent Fund be deposited into the Psychology Fund.

3) This bill requires a student/registrant to pay into the Psychology Fund those fees fixed by the Board.

Current fees:

Application Processing Fee $150
Fingerprint Processing Fee $49
Renewal Fee (biennial) $75
Delinquent Renewal Fee $25

4) This bill authorizes the Board to employ whatever additional clerical assistance is necessary for the administration and enforcement of the Psychology Law as it relates to research psychoanalyst registrants.

Costs to the Board of Psychology would be received through moneys paid into the Psychology Fund by students/registrants to the program.