Continuing Education Information
36 hours of Continuing Education (CE) are required for each 2-year renewal period.
- A minimum of 25% (9 hours) must be "live."
- Webinars in which there is interaction with the instructor in real time (via instant messaging, for example), are considered "live".
Psychologists self-certify the number of hours they have completed on their renewal form (whether online or paper).
Courses or presentations less than one hour in length are not acceptable. No extensions will be granted to comply with CE requirements.
Law & Ethics requirement
Under the current regulations, there is no hour requirement or certificate required for Laws & Ethics. Licensees must check a box self-certifying that they have kept abreast of changes to laws (statutes and regulations) and ethics. There is no specified method regarding how the information must be obtained. Licensees can take a continuing education course, review Web sites, participate in grand rounds, etc.
Suicide Prevention Training
At the time of his or her first renewal after January 1, 2020, a licensee will be required to attest on the renewal form to meeting a one-time, six (6) hour suicide risk assessment and intervention coursework or applied experience requirement. For a licensee with an expired or inactive license, the six (6) hour requirement must be completed prior to renewing or reactivating his or her license.
Licensees can meet this requirement in one of the following ways:
- Obtained as part of his or her qualifying graduate degree program.
- To satisfy this requirement, a licensee may be required to submit to the board a written certification from the registrar or training director of the educational institution or program from which the applicant graduated stating that the coursework required by this section is included within the institution's curriculum required for graduation at the time the applicant graduated, or within the coursework that was completed by the applicant
- Obtained as part of his or her applied experience. Applied experience can be met in any of the following settings: practicum, internship, or formal postdoctoral placement that meets the requirement of Section 2911, or other qualifying supervised professional experience.
- To satisfy this requirement, a licensee may be required to submit to the board a written certification from the director of training for the program or primary supervisor where the qualifying experience has occurred stating that the training required by this section was included within the applied experience.
- Obtained by taking any approved, structured, sequenced learning activity, whether conducted in-person or online. The continuing education (CE) course must be approved by organizations approved by the Board:
- To satisfy this requirement, the licensee shall submit to the board a CE certificate of completion.
The Board of Psychology recognizes and accepts for continuing education credit courses that are provided by entities approved by:
- APA (American Psychological Association),
- CPA (California Psychological Association)
- ABPsi (Association of Black Psychologists), or
- CMA (California Medical Association) // ACCME (Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education)
- CME (Continuing Medical Education) courses must be specifically applicable and pertinent to the practice of psychology.
- "AMA [American Medical Association] PRA [Physician's Recognition Award] Category 1 Credit TM" is acceptable
- PRA [Physician’s Recognition Award] Category 1 Credit TM’ is acceptable1
Audits & Retention of Records
Licensees must retain their CE records for a minimum of four (4) years; the Board conducts random audits and, if selected, will contact the licensee for proof of completion.
Exemptions or Exceptions from CE requirements
Exemptions are available (pursuant to California Code of Regulations, Title 16, §1397.62) for the following reasons:
- total physical or mental disability of the psychologist for a period of at least one year,
- total physical or mental disability of an immediate family member for at least one year where the psychologist has total responsibility for the care of that family member, or
- engagement in active military service.
A licensee may request a reasonable accommodation according to the Americans with Disabilities Act which would exempt them from the on-site participation requirement.
If a licensee wishes to request an exemption or reasonable accommodation, they should send a written request to the Board at 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834 or via e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org, with supporting documentation from a licensed physician and surgeon or, in the case of a mental disability, a licensed psychologist or board certified or board eligible psychiatrist.
If a license is inactive, the licensee must provide proof of 36 hours of CE in order to reactivate. The hours must be completed in the 24 months immediately preceding reactivation. Additional information regarding reactivation can be obtained is on the reactivation form, which can be accessed here.
For more information regarding continuing education, see §§1397.60 through 1397.70 in the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 16.
The Board’s statutes and regulations can be accessed by visiting http://www.psychology.ca.gov