Text Size - Small Medium Large

Board Member Information

Business and Professions Code sections 2920 through 2923 state that the Board shall consist of nine members, four of whom shall be public members and five shall be licensed members. Each member of the Board holds office for a term of four years. They serve until the appointment and qualification of a successor or until one year has elapsed since the expiration of the term for which he or she was appointed, whichever occurs first. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

The Governor appoints two public members and five licensed members. The Senate Rules Committee and the Speaker of the Assembly each appoint a public member.

The Governor is required to use his judgment in appointing licensed psychologists who represent the varied professional interests of psychologists in California.

Each member must be a resident of California. The public members must not be licentiates of the Board or of any board under Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code or of any board referred to in the Chiropractic Act or the Osteopathic Act.

Current Board Members:

Name Appointing Authority Appointment Type Appointment Date Reappointment Date Expiration Date
Lea Tate, PsyD (President) Governor Licensed Member 12/07/18   06/01/22
Seyron Foo (Vice-President) Governor Public Member 05/17/17 06/11/20 06/01/24
Sheryll Casuga, PsyD, CMPC Governor Licensed Member 08/18/17 10/02/19 06/01/23
Marisela Cervantes, EdD, MPA Speaker Public Member 04/29/19 06/01/22 06/01/26
Mary Harb Sheets, PhD Governor Licensed Member 12/07/18 06/19/20 06/01/24
Julie Nystrom Senate Public Member 09/21/20   06/01/24
Stephen Phillips, JD, PsyD Governor Licensed Member 09/25/13 06/02/16
Ana Rescate Governor Public Member 10/20/20   06/01/22
Shacunda Rodgers, PhD Governor Licensed Member 11/27/19   06/01/23

Board of Psychology Committee Assignments 2021

Committee Chairperson Members
Standing Committees
Licensure Committee Mary Harb Sheets, PhD Julie Nystrom
Lea Tate, PsyD
Outreach and Communications Committee Lea Tate, PsyD Shacunda Rodgers, PhD
Ana Rescate
Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee Marisela Cervantes, EdD, MPA Sheryll Casuga, PsyD, CMPC,
Stephen Phillips, JD, PsyD
Ad hoc Committees
Budget Ad Hoc Committee Shacunda Rodgers, PhD Julie Nystrom
EPPP Part 2 Committee Sheryll Casuga, PsyD, CMPC Seyron Foo
Mary Harb Sheets, PhD
Emergency Preparedness Committee Marisela Cervantes, EdD, MPA Shacunda Rodgers, PhD
Enforcement Committee Stephen Phillips, JD, PsyD Seyron Foo
Sunset Review Committee Seyron Foo Stephen Phillips, JD, PsyD
Telepsychology Committee Stephen Phillips, JD, PsyD Julie Nystrom
Lea Tate PsyD

Consumer Affairs Board Member Resource Page
Governor Appointment Page
Assembly Appointment Page
Senate Appointments