Text Size - Small Medium Large


Regulation Advisory: Continuing Professional Development

Effective January 1, 2023, the California Board of Psychology (Board) will be requiring licensees to complete 36 hours of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) biennially. This regulatory change amends Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations Sections 1381.9, 1397.60, 1397.61, 1397.62, 1397.67.

HISTORY

In 2012, the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards presented a new model of Continuing Education – Continuing Professional Development (CPD). That same year, the Legislature asked the Board to discuss with the business and professions committees of efforts to date to address continuing competency and what it expects to accomplish in the near future regarding this issue. The Board’s response to this was that it was working to replace the single requirement of traditional continuing education courses with a more robust continued competency model. In 2015, the Board noticed a regulatory change that established the framework for CPD, but later withdrew the proposed regulatory package to make substantive modifications based on licensee concerns. The Sunset Extension Bill in 2017 established the four different categories of learning activities that met the requirements for CPD. In June of 2017, the Board approved regulatory language for Notice. Board staff drafted the regulatory package and submitted it to DCA to start the initial review phase. The CPD regulatory package has been approved and the new professional development options become available January 1, 2023.

WHAT IS CPD? CPD is a broader concept, referring to the continuing development of the multi-faceted abilities needed for quality professional performance in one’s area of practice. This model consists of 15 continuing professional development activities grouped under four different categories. This change does not affect the required 36 hours required for renewal.

Please note, licenses that expire between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023, can be renewed by completing either traditional Continuing Education or CPD.

SUMMARY OF CHANGES:

Specific Topic Areas Required

Laws and Ethics

Licensees must complete a minimum of 4 hours of training in the subject of laws and ethics as they apply to the practice of Psychology. The requirement can be met using any combination of CPD categories.

Cultural Diversity/Social Justice

Licensees must complete a minimum of 4 hours of training in the subject of cultural diversity and/or social justice as they apply to the practice of Psychology. The requirement can be met using any combination of the four CPD categories.

Remaining CPD Activities Available

The following is a summary of CPD learning activities:

CE/CPD Activity

Maximum # of Hours Allowed Each Renewal Period

Hours Credited by Activity

CPD Learning Category #1 – Professional Activity

Peer Consultation

Including, but not limited to case consultation, reading or research groups.

Licensees shall maintain a record of hours. The record shall include the following: date(s), type of activity, and total number of hours.

1 hour minimum, if used
18 hours maximum

1 hour of activity = 1 hour credited

Practice Outcome Monitoring

Assessing patient/client outcomes via protocol, including the use of repeated standardized outcome assessment protocols to assess patient/client outcomes.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity as documentation of compliance. This record shall include the following: date(s) of monitoring, client identifier, and how outcomes were measured.

 

9 hours maximum

1 patient/client of practice outcome monitoring = 1 hour credited

Professional Services

Including, but not limited to, serving on psychological association boards or committees, editorial boards or peer-reviewed journals related to psychology, scientific grant review teams or board member of regulatory body, program development and/or activities in service of psychology.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity as documentation of compliance. This record shall include the following: board or program name, role of licensee, dates of service, and term of service (six months or one year).

4.5 hours minimum, if used
12 hours maximum

1 year = 9 hours credited
6 months = 4.5 hours credited

Conference/Convention Attendance

Attendance at professional gatherings, either in person or via electronic means, that consists of multiple concurrent or sequential free-standing presentations related to the practice of psychology.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity as documentation of compliance. This record shall include the following: name of conference/convention attended, proof of registration, and date(s) of conference/convention attended.

6 hours maximum

1 full conference day attendance = 1 hour credited

Examination Functions

Serving in any function related to examination development for the Board or for the development of the EPPP.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity as
documentation of compliance. This record shall include the following: name of exam, dates of service, and number of hours.

12 hours maximum

1 hour of service = 1 hour credited

Expert Review/Consultation

Expert Review/Consultation means serving in any expert capacity for the Board.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity as documentation of compliance. This record shall include the following: dates of service and number of hours.

12 hours maximum

1 hour of service in expert capacity = 1 hour credited

Attendance at a California Board of Psychology Meeting

Attendance at a California Board of Psychology Meeting (full Board or Committee).

Licensees shall maintain a record of hours as documentation of compliance. This record shall include the following: date of meeting, name of meeting, and number of hours attended. A psychologist requesting CPD credit pursuant to this subdivision shall have signed in and out on an attendance sheet providing their first and last name, license number, time of arrival and time of departure from the meeting.

8 hours maximum

1 day of Board of Committee meeting = 6 hours credited

For Board or Committee meetings that are 3 hours or less, 1 hour of attendance = 1 hour credited

CPD Learning Category #2 – Academic

Academic Coursework

Completing and earning credit for a graduate-level course related to psychology from an institution whose degree meets the requirements of section 2914 of the Code.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity. This record shall include a transcript with evidence of a passing grade (C or higher or “pass”).

18 hours maximum

Each course counts only once for each renewal period

1 semester unit course = 6 hours credited

1 quarter unit course = 4.5 hours credited

Academic/Sponsor-Approved CE Instruction

Academic Instruction means teaching a graduate-level course that is part of a degree program that meets the requirements of section 2914(c) of the Code.
Sponsor-Approved CE Instruction means teaching a sponsored CE course that relates to the practice of psychology as defined in 1397.60(c).

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity. This record shall include the following: course syllabus, title of course, name of institution, and dates of instruction.

18 hours maximum

1 quarter or semester academic course = 18 hours credited

Supervision

Overseeing the professional experience of a trainee who is accruing hours towards licensure as a Psychologist, Marriage and Family Therapist, Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, Licensed Educational Psychologist, or Physician and Surgeon.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity. This record shall include the following: dates of supervision and a trainee identifier.

18 hours maximum

1 hour of supervision = 1 hour credited

Publications

Publications means authoring or co-authoring peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, book(s), or editing or co-editing a book, related to psychology or related discipline.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity. This record shall include the following: either a letter of acceptance for publication, or proof of publication with publication date in the renewal period for which it is being submitted.

9 hours maximum

1 publication = 9 hours credited

Self-Directed Learning

Independent educational activities focused on maintaining, developing, or increasing conceptual and applied competencies that are relevant to psychological practice, education, or science, such as reading peer-review journal articles or books, watching videos or webcasts, or listening to podcasts.

Licensees shall maintain a record of this activity. This record shall include the following: date(s), medium (e.g. webinar), topic or title, and total number of hours.

6 hours maximum

1 hour of activity = 1 hour credited

CPD Learning Category #3 – Sponsored Continuing Education

Includes any approved structured, sequenced learning activity, whether conducted in-person or online.

The licensee shall maintain proof of attendance provided by the sponsor of the continuing education.

27 hours maximum

1 hour of sponsored continuing education = 1 hour credited

CPD Learning Activity #4 – Board Certification

American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) Board Certification

Can count for 100% of required CE in the renewal cycle that certification is awarded.

The licensee shall maintain proof of specialty certification.

36 hours

Certification awarded = 36 hours credited

“Senior Option” ABPP Board Certification

Can count for 50% of required CE in the renewal cycle that certification is awarded.

The licensee shall maintain proof of specialty certification.

18 hours

Certification awarded – 18 hours credited

 

For the full text of CPD Regulations
For more detailed information regarding the learning activities, please see the, CPD Initial Statement of Reasons
CPD Reporting Form (for personal use, the form cannot be submitted to the Board in lieu of the required CPD documentation)